Family shocked after kin admitted at Mbagathi is found dead in a morgue without notice


By Amos Makhanu

The family of Jane Kari in Kayole, Nairobi, is lamentimg after their keen was found dead at Mbagathi Hospital Mortuary despite the facility having promised to update her husband on her admitted Covid-19 condion.

Jane was admitted at Mama Lucy on July 12, 2021 but her husband Naftaly was later informed that she had been transferred to Mbagathi due to Covid-19 compilations.

image
Mbagathi Hospital in Nairobi. Photo – Courtesy

Speaking during an interview with Citizen TV, Naftaly said he was called at midnight using his wife’s phone to be informed that she had been transfered to isolation at Mbagathi because the facility at Mama Lucy had no oxygen to sustain the deceased, and that he would be allowed to see her after seven days.

“I waited. The seven days ended on Tuesday but they did not call me. I waited for their phone call for a further two days but I did not get it. On Thursday, I went to the hospital and found another doctor who told me that my wife was not in the ward. I went to the entire ward to look for her but I did not see her,” Naftaly said. 

The family of Jane has many questions as to how their keens body was found in a mortuary without even informing the family.

Kenyatta Hospital management has promised to offer the family answers soon.

1 thought on “Family shocked after kin admitted at Mbagathi is found dead in a morgue without notice

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.